Buckwheat Crepes

IMG_4022

So, I haven’t really done any pancake recipes yet, because you all know my love for waffles. Well… I’m here to change that. And as my first pancake recipe, I decided I would make gluten-free crepes. Impossible right? Nope, it’s quite simple! (I feel like some people would disagree).

My mom and sister are crepe lovers. They were growing tired of my waffles, and my sister would feel like making crepes. Then one weekend, I decided I would make crepes, but gluten-free, because my mom was interested in cutting out some gluten things… not because she’s gluten intolerant, but because it makes her less bloated (she had her gallbladder removed last year).

My mom was excited when I said I would make her gluten-free ones. I had some buckwheat groats on hand, so I ground them up into flour (using my handy dandy Vitamix and a dry container) in order to make these crepes. I must say, buckwheat is a very neutral tasting flour compared to other types of seed or gluten-free flours, so I quite enjoy it.  I secretly didn’t tell my sister that I had used buckwheat flour/it was gluten-free, because I knew she wouldn’t eat them 🙂 Lo and behold, when she did try them, she didn’t think I actually made them gluten-free. Needless to say, she loved them. And I think you will too!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp buckwheat flour
  • 2 tbsp tapioca or arrowroot starch
  • 1 tbsp coconut sugar
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk
  • 2.5 tbsp vegan butter (or regular butter), melted
  • 2 eggs (I used egg whites, ~6 tbsp)

Whisk the flours and sugar in a small bowl. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, and add the milk and melted butter. Stir in the flour until you have a batter. Alternatively, you can use a blender and just put all ingredients in it, letting it whir. Saves from using more utensils and bowls 🙂

IMG_4017

Preheat a pan on medium heat, and lightly grease it with vegan butter or oil. Pour about 3-4 tablespoons of batter, and let it spread around for a thin crepe. Let cook for a minute or two, and flip to cook the other side for another minute.

IMG_4018

Serve with some fresh berries, a drizzle of maple syrup or agave, icing sugar, or even my maple raspberry sauce. Enjoy!!

 

What are your favourite kinds of gluten-free flours?

2 thoughts on “Buckwheat Crepes”

Leave a Reply

