Gluten-Free Zucchini Pancakes

IMG_1702

Hopefully you guys remember my carrot cake waffles recipe from awhile back. Even though I haven’t had waffles in a while, I wasn’t really in the mood to bring out the waffle iron…it takes a lot of cleaning, and I’m the laziest person as you recall in my last post 😛

Since I hadn’t made any pancakes in a while, I thought I would post a recipe. You could say that this pancake recipe is inspired by carrot cake, only using zucchini as the star ingredient.A week ago, I posted a recipe on a banana & zucchini bread. Since I had an extra zucchini at the time I made the bread, I decided I would use it to create pancakes for breakfast the next day. I planned to make eggs and all with it, but I ran out of time, so I was able to have some turkey bacon with it and some corn that my mom boiled. Strange combination, but it worked.

For those who are insensitive to diet or plant-based vegan, this recipe covers both! Now, I don’t really follow a gluten-free diet, or advocate any other diet for that matter (hence being ‘flexitarian’), but I like catering to various people and their diets so that they can use recipes on my blog! That being said, I do enjoy eating gluten-free sometimes only because it does make me feel less bloated for certain dishes. Unless you’re insensitive to gluten, I hope people don’t think that eating gluten-free automatically means being healthier!

Anyway, let’s get to the recipe 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup potato starch
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free APF or chickpea flour
  • 3 tbsp tapioca starch
  • 1 tbsp coconut sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon or chai spice
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (non-vegans can sub 1 egg)
  • 2 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

———

In a small bowl, combine the milk and vinegar to activate into ‘buttermilk’. Set aside for 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, sift potato starch, flour, tapioca starch and add in sugar, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, cinnamon, and salt. Whisk to combine. In a small bowl, whisk the applesauce (or egg), oil, and vanilla. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, then pour in buttermilk. Whisk to combine. Fold in zucchini and let batter rest for 5-10 minutes.

IMG_1696

Heat a frying pan over medium heat with oil or spray. Pour in batter to make pancake. I usually put in about 1/4 cup and spread it with my spatula. Cook until it becomes bubbly (about 3 minutes), then flip to cook another 3 minutes.

IMG_1697 IMG_1699

Drizzle with maple syrup, and enjoy 🙂

IMG_1700

Leave a Reply

