Vegan Miso Ginger Ice Cream

IMG_4912

I know what you’re thinking. How would anyone think to combine miso and ginger in an ice cream flavour? Well, my favourite local ice cream store in town comes up with some of the most interesting flavours I have tried. And the ice cream is AAAAAHMAAAZING. Some flavours they’ve done include blackberry & coriander, cardamom, bourbon peach… Granted, it is definitely something I indulge in once in a while, and they often have awesome vegan flavours…but I’m not sold on all of them, because they tend to be coconut milk based (not that that is a bad thing), and not as creamy/soft as their regular ice cream. 

Recently, they said they created a miso ginger flavour. This really intrigued me. Since I didn’t want to make the trek out to their store (and it can be a bit pricy), I decided to put my ice cream maker to use. My sister and dad bought an ice cream attachment for the KitchenAid for me as my birthday present, and I started my ice cream journey by making vanilla ice cream for (Canadian) Thanksgiving last month. That then progressed to making this pumpkin pie ice cream (a big hit among my friend and mom!!). I started to get the hang of vegan bases (that didn’t use coconut milk), that I had to experiment on my own. One flavour I tried (that will hopefully be featured on the blog some time) is cardamom & rosewater (another big hit among friends), and this interesting flavour. I wasn’t sure how well it would turn out, but it was really good, with the prominent flavour being ginger and a subtle hint of miso. It was creamy, flavourful, and oh so good.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups raw cashews, soaked 6 hours or overnight
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2.5 tbsp oil (I used avocado)
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup cane sugar
  • 1/3 cup agave
  • 1/2 tsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp miso paste
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1.5-2 inch piece of fresh ginger

———

Place your churning bowl in the freezer the night before in the freezer (I store it there all the time for easy access whenever I want to make ice cream).

Drain soaked cashews and add all ingredients to a high-powered blender. Blend until creamy and smooth. Taste to adjust sweetness or add more ginger if you want more flavour. Refrigerate mixture for an hour or so to cool.

IMG_4910

Add cooled mixture to chilled ice cream maker and let it run as per instructions. It should take about 15-20 minutes (depending on ice cream machine), and the end result will be like a soft-serve.

IMG_0451 IMG_4911

At this point, you can eat it, or transfer to a freezer-safe container to harden and set up into proper ice cream. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

