Vegan Blackberry and Coriander Ice Cream

IMG_0660

So, the day before yesterday marked one year for this blog. I know I missed the actual date, but the holidays can be busy! The year flew by so fast, and with it, I was able to post 83 recipes (or so my blog tells me). Not so bad! Thank you to you guys, who have been following, or who have been visiting and using my recipes for inspiration šŸ™‚

I figured I needed to post a special recipe to mark the year (and end of 2014), so while this isn’t extra special, the flavour of thic ice cream is awesome. Today, I bring to you a vegan blackberry and coriander ice cream.

Now, you might be thinking… coriander? In ice cream? I’m not talking about the green leafy variety. No my friends, the coriander in this is the seed, and let me tell you – this flavour combination rocks! Again, I was inspired by a flavour that my favourite local ice cream store had, and while it was a swirl, I wasn’t feeling so fancy to do that, so I just mixed the two together. It still worked out great, and the blackberry with the hint of coriander really melds together! It’s fantastic – you have to try if you have an ice cream machine.

With 2015 nearing in just a couple days, it’s time for new year’s resolutions. I think one will definitely have to be making more ice cream flavours! I also want to (re)learn French again, so that’s another doable one. Now I’m not really one for resolutions really, but hey, they work for some people! Perhaps you guys will incorporate more whole foods/clean eating?

Small talk aside, let’s get to the recipe!

Ingredients
Makes 1 pint

  • 1 cup raw cashews, soaked 6 hours or overnight
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1Ā tbsp + 2 tsp oil (I used avocado)
  • 1 tsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1/3 cup cane sugar
  • 3 tbsp agave
  • 1/3 tsp whiteĀ vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2Ā tspĀ coriander seeds
  • 1/4 cup blackberries

———

Place your churning bowl in the freezer the night before in the freezer.

Drain soaked cashews and add all ingredients to a high-powered blender. Blend until creamy and smooth. Taste to adjust sweetness. If you don’t taste the coriander, add a little bit more to your liking. Refrigerate mixture for an hour or so to cool.

Add cooled mixture to chilled ice cream maker and let it run as per instructions. It should take about 15-20 minutes (depending on ice cream machine), and the end result will be like a soft-serve.

At this point, you can eat it, or transfer to a freezer-safe container to harden and set up into proper ice cream. Enjoy!!!

What are your resolutions for 2015?

3 thoughts on “Vegan Blackberry and Coriander Ice Cream”

Leave a Reply

