Vegetarian Quiche

IMG_0816

I’ve always been a lover of brunch, so I’m constantly looking for new recipes to make for lunch. Waffles has been a staple, as has been crepes. My best friend came over, and I suggested we could cook the meal at home. This time, I wanted to try my hand at quiche, since I don’t recall ever doing it on my own. Plus, who doesn’t like a good hearty quiche – packed with protein from the eggs, and wonderful veggies, and a delicious crust.Now, I don’t know about you, but I am terrible at making crusts. I always defer to my sister who always manages to make a beautiful, flaky crust whenever we have a pie-related dish. I’m glad to say I succeeded this time! I also flavoured the crust, because it is often overlooked, and while a plain crust is still good, there is something about adding more flavours to it, which adds to the overall dish.

I was really happy with how this turned out – my best friend agreed! It tasted awesome. Not bad for my first quiche. I’m waiting to hear more feedback, but I think it’ll go down really well 🙂

Ingredients

Crust

  • 2 cups flour (I used a mix of white/whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup cold vegan butter or regular, cut up into squares
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp poppy seeds (optional)
  • 1 tbsp dried rosemary or other herbs (optional)
  • 5-8 tbsp cold water

Quiche

  • Veggies (I used butternut squash, mushrooms, leeks, and tomatoes) – see note
  • 2-3 tbsp oil
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 and 3/4 cups milk
  • 2 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated cheddar
  • salt and pepper

———

Preheat the oven to 355 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, mix the flour, salt, poppy seeds, and rosemary. Add the cold butter chunks and use a fork or pastry blender to work it in the flour, until it resembles coarse sand. Add the cold water a tablespoon at a time, until a dough comes together. Wrap it in saran wrap and let it rest in the fridge for at least 30 minutes (you can also do this overnight!).

IMG_0810

IMG_0811

Once firm, roll out the dough until it is about 0.5 cm thick. Place over a tart or pie pan (~9 inch), and flush against sides. Trim excess dough. Place in oven with weights in the centre (I used rice over foil), and let bake for 15 minutes. Then take out the weights, and let it bake for a further 5 minutes. Take out and let it rest.

Turn oven down to 320 degrees F. Heat a pan on medium heat with the oil, and add the veggies (except tomatoes) until sautéed. Drain any excess liquid and pour into pie dish, along with grated cheese and slices of tomatoes.

IMG_0812

 

IMG_0814

Meanwhile, whisk the eggs, milk, and parmesan cheese together. Pour over the pie crust until it reaches near the top. Place in oven and let bake for 45 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes before cutting in and serving. Enjoy!

IMG_0815

Notes

  • I used roasted butternut squash in mine, but you can also add any veggies you like – fresh spinach, asparagus, kale, arugula, zucchini, or even prosciutto for non-vegetarians!
Leave a Reply

